John Butler Trio’s “April Uprising”

April 1, 2010

Have you ever heard of the the John Butler Trio?

If you are a fan of the band or have no clue who I am talking about, be sure to check out JBT’s new album “April Uprising.”

“April Uprising” will release Tuesday, April 6, and hit music stores all over the world.  This is John Butler’s fifth studio album, but this record has a different feel all around.

“April Uprising” is the debut album on JBT’s new label ATO Records.  The Australian roots rocker also has a new supporting cast playing around him with Nicky Bomba on drums and Byron Luiters on bass. The album is more song driven ad commercial than his previous two albums “Sunrise Over Sea” and “Grand National”, but the songs stick in your head and set the mood for summertime.

The underlying message of all of the songs are surprisingly influenced by a television show.  While recording the new album, John Butler was featured on an Australian TV show “Who Do You Think You Are” , a show that traced the family history of different celebrities and artists.  Through the show, Butler found out information about his distant relatives and many of the songs on the album are inspired by his family’s history.

The John Butler Trio will be supporting “April Uprising” with a tour of the UK this spring.  That will be followed with a theatre and club tour in the US early this summer.

John Butler Trio is a band you do not want to pass up. Their unique style will make you want to listen again and again.

“April Uprising” Track List

“C’Mon Now”
“I’d Do Anything”
“Ragged Mile”
“Johnny’s Gone”
“Close To You”
“Don’t Wanna See Your Face”
“Take Me”
“I’m A Fool”
“To Look Like You”
“Steal It”
“Mystery Man”
“Gonna Be A Long Time”
“A Star Is Born”